General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

improbable miss?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2012, 10:54 AM
Question improbable miss?

91 accord sedan 2.2L (F22A1) 4speed auto. 252K miles.

recently; the vehicle has lost a dramatic amount of power. while attempting take off, the engine falters. in reverse it pops loudly and feels like you're running on possible one or two cylinders. at low speed idle the becomes rougher and rougher and the phantom of a die-off looms ominously.
it sounds like a cylinder miss. and at low-rpm you can hear a pop in the exhaust, the engine feels and sounds like it is backfiring.
i am not the most experienced wrench jockey. i have 7 years of experience as a general service technician at an infiniti dealership.

here is what i have done so far.

new plugs
new wires
removed and cleaned distributor cap/rotor. removed distributor to check for oil, clean.
removed and cleaned throttlebody
have tried rocking distributor to alter timing.
cleaned and adjusted fast-intake valve.

i regularly use fuel injector cleaner (every other fillup)
i use either 91 or 93 rated octane

--yesterday i took the vehicle to NTB in janesville Wi.
they charged 99 for a vehicle diagnostic and said it was the timing belt.
they replaced the timing belt and set the timing with a timing light. they also said they *had* to replace the water pump.
all-in-all it cost ~$615. there has been no change in the vehicles sound or performance. there still a poping noise in the exhaust at low-rpm, and the vehicle is vastly underpowered.

if anyone has any suggestions as to where to look next; i would be grateful.

other information. the check engine light is usually not on. sometimes it will be, sometimes it will not be.
the S light also blinks occasionally, but sometimes works as normal.

Old 10-14-2012, 11:52 AM
Super Moderator