General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Key won't turn in ignition ? opinions please?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2016, 04:42 AM
Default Key won't turn in ignition ? opinions please?

car is a 2003 accord lx v6 auto, 153,000 miles

problem :
the key won't turn in the ignition ?, so can't start the car.

any help or info you can give me so i can figure out whats causing this would be appreciated, cause i want to avoid taking to a shop, when it could easily be a simple little thing, such as needing a new key or cleaning out the ignition keyhole or something ? also i work as a delivery driver using this car, so i need to fix it soon as possible cause i'm missing out on money and shifts i have for tomorrow and the days after that.

earlier in the week, the plastic around the little screw on both of my key fobs cracked from overtightening the screw, they still held together, but the metal key part wobbled back and forth in it, but i was able to use them to start the car fine.

yesterday i put some epoxy glue on the backside of the keyfobs around the screw hole to strengthen where the cracks where, and i put some around the hole the key comes out of, but i did'nt cover any of the parts inside, i just carefully applied it with a plastic knife.

lastnight i drove the car, and went to a couple stores, turning off car and starting it up again with no problem, then i went to a car wash stall and turned the car off, and i was going to work on a few things, i squirted some dry powder graphite lube in the door lock cylinder, and then some into the ignition key cylinder hole, cause thats what i've used in the past on my other cars, which were 90 or 91 models, and its meant for that type of thing, but i don't know if it is good to use on newer cars like this one?

after doing that, i put the key in the igntion and it did'nt turn ?,