General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My radiator fan motor fell off?

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2013, 03:40 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default My radiator fan motor fell off?

I'm very very new at this stuff, but I've been fixing things as I go and learning as I do new things, so be gentle

My A/C wasn't working, so I found a short in the heater control panel, and fixed it, and then my fuse was still blowing. So I tested the relay, and all the wires that go with it, until I got to the radiator fan, and I realized that it did not look like the cooling fan, and the motor appears to have fallen out and melted some plastic.

So I'm picking up a replacement fan assembly at a junkyard tonight, but this is the most "engine-y" thing I've done, everything before this has just been electrical. I watched a few Youtube videos on how to do it, but does anyone have any tips, or is there anything that I should know? I just don't want any surprises once I get things disassembled.

Any idea what caused this? If anything else nearby might be broken from whatever caused this to break? Anything to check for to make sure that I fix the root cause of the issue?

My game plan is to go in from the top and remove the radiator and some hoses to access it, and I think it looks fairly straight forward, but is there anything that I should definitely not touch around there to get clearance?

Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails My radiator fan motor fell off?-d39g3hul.jpg   My radiator fan motor fell off?-yzd9wjbl.jpg   My radiator fan motor fell off?-sc9i49al.jpg   My radiator fan motor fell off?-omq4xgal.jpg  
Old 07-29-2013, 03:51 PM
Super Moderator

What year is your Accord? Generally, replacing the fan motor does not require radiator removal, just the shroud assembly with the motor.

Old 07-29-2013, 03:59 PM
Newest Of Newbies