General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here with an Oldie 1995 EX

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2017, 03:15 PM
Default Newbie here with an Oldie 1995 EX

Hello All! Well, I've joined the Honda (car) ranks. Already had the 2-wheel Valkyrie.

I bought a 95 Accord Ex (228K) mainly because I really love that body style and I need gas mileage. Looked for several months trying to find a decent Honda because I also drive an F-150.

I do have issues though. As beautiful as this one-owner car is on the outside and the interior, she's killing me with the inside stuff!!

1. The speedometer jumps around and on my way to work this morning, the check engine light came on and the light around "D4"started flashing. Took it to a transmission shop and they put a new speed sensor on it but the needle still bounces around. It works sometimes and doesn't sometimes. So, besides the SS, they suggested putting in a different instrument cluster. Apparently, this is a common issue on the older Honda's??

2. She's a leaker. I changed out the valve cover gasket and that helped but didn't solve the problem. A different shop told me the front, rear, and oil pan gaskets needed to be replaced too. For now, just put some of that Lucas oil additive to help revitalize the gaskets?

3. The bellows on the rack and pinion leak too. Again, get some Lucas Rack and Pinion fluid, suck out some of the power steering and put this in it. Does that sound right?

4. rough idle especially in the mornings

5. The fan runs for about 10 minutes every time I turn it off. Is this normal?

6. (UPDATE) the cluster has been changed out (this one shows about 100k less miles on it) and now the SRS light is on. The shop told me a couple of bulbs were burned out on the old one. He tried to clear the light but it kept coming right back on. Anything I need to know about getting this looked at?