General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No kickdown, bouncing revs @ 65, no D4 light, + more

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2013, 12:04 AM
Default No kickdown, bouncing revs @ 65, no D4 light, + more

WALL OF TEXT INCOMING, TL;DR at the end.

Hey there, got a wonderful problem for yall. I'm planning on working on this car this week so will have time to try tests. So here is the story, I'm a semi-amateur auto tech (work at a shop but no ASE):

Parent's 95 accord was making a groaning noise coasting on uphills coming off the freeway from 65 to around 50. Also, the idle was rough. Attempted IACV cleaning to no improvement. Stealership quoted a 4figure price to replace all four motor mounts. I offered to replace two and see if that fixed it. (Front and rear). In the meantime the upper radiator port broke off, so replaced the radiator as well.

Coasting groan is gone (front mount was bad), but the idle is still rough and have a bunch of new issues. Accidentally left the VSS unplugged but sorted that out eventually.

New issues:
-D4 light does not come on while driving (lights up during dash-light test though)
-Trans does not kick-down. The cable seems to be adjusted correctly, lever isn't damaged or bent.
-Revs will occasionally move between 2 to 3k at 65 with no apparent speed change.
-(Likely unrelated) ABS light master code 1 is on. (pump motor overrun) Will be testing harness for shorts/voltage this week, no apparent leaks.
-On one occasion the vehicle stalled at a traffic light.

I've already tested the lockup solenoid and the harness to the computer for that solenoid. The ATF level is good & appears clean. I plan on:
-Testing all solenoids while the vehicle is running (system at pressure).
-Wiring test lights to the solenoids & testdrive.
-Double-checking VSS, solenoid, and temperature sensor connecters.
-Burping the coolant.
From there I might: