General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noisy valves - please listen to audio!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2016, 10:05 PM
Default Noisy valves - please listen to audio!!

So, after replacing head with a reman I have adjusted my valves three times. The last time about two hours ago. I have been reading and watching videos wanting to master this procedure. When the head first went on valves were pretty quiet. I re adjusted thinking I probably was off in adjustment due to it being my first time. Long story short, I was getting a little noise so I studied up and tried it tonite. I checked where they were adjusted before I changed them and several were extremely tight and some very loose. I adjusted and checked all with the next larger feeler gauge. Started car and have quite a racket going on. Can I remove spark plug wires one at a time to isolate the cylinder? Please listen to noise on video. Thanks

Attached Files
Old 04-23-2016, 11:29 PM
Super Moderator

That doesn't sound good, so I'd recommend that you do not run the engine.

Before you did the adjustment, what were the clearances?

How are you getting each cylinder up to top dead center to do the adjustment?

Old 04-23-2016, 11:36 PM

Using a 19 mm wrench on power steering pump. Starting at TDC and rotating camshaft 90 degrees for each cylinder. I didn't write them down. How would I know what they were when they are of. Just keep sliding different feelers in till one fits?

Old 04-23-2016, 11:53 PM
Super Moderator

Sounds like you have the right idea on how to do this.