General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Oil is black after only 2000 miles. What to do?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 10:51 AM
L979
Unregistered
Default Oil is black after only 2000 miles. What to do?

Changed oil 2000 miles ago and the oil is allready black. Yesteday I took the valve cover off to replace gaskets and noticed that the inside had black deposits all around. When I touch it i get something similar to fine sand on my finger. This is a '93 lx that has 217k on it and I don't feel like spending to much money on it but is there anything I can do to make it easier for my engine, maybe get some of that gunk out or change oil filter (and oil ofcorse). I'm new with fixing my own car and I could use a good advice.Thanks

Old 06-03-2009, 10:58 AM
Super Moderator

SLUDGE!
There's some products for that, like BG-44K (I've heard good stuff, never used it myself, don't actually know the brand name...)

If you're comfortable taking off the VC, scrape out all you can. Remove oil pan & do the same down there. Then change oil at really short intervals for awhile.

Old 06-03-2009, 11:09 AM

Also, depending on how much you want to mess with it you can grab a couple of cans of sea foam and run that through, a bit in the gas, bit in the oil with change and bit in through the brake booster line (search the forum you'll find out how), then change the oil and change the filter with EVERY oil change and that should go a long way to help it.

Old 06-03-2009, 06:52 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

, be very, very careful when scraping the sludge off from inside the valve cover( rocker arm assembly) if some of that sludge goes into the block it will block the oil pump pick up, thus block oil passages, thus starve engine for oil and ruin the rod--main bearings.......
otherwise do as Jim suggested, remove oil pan and then you can really clean it while pan is off,,

Old 06-03-2009, 10:51 PM