General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil change?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2006, 11:35 PM
Default Oil change?

Since i have the newer accords I am hearing that I do not need to change my oil until it hits 5000. I am use to changing them at 3000. I am about 200 miles shy from the 3000, but I'm not sure what i should do. This is the first oil change my car is getting so do i wait or just do it at 3000. [:-]

Old 01-30-2006, 01:40 AM
Default RE: Oil change?

5k is what Honda reccomends on the new body style accords as a selling point because they require less maintanence. But as a mechanic I personally reccomend 3k for an interval. Although I do reccomend sticking with the oil for the at least 5k before the first change. Supposedly there are addatives in the oil that help to break in your new motor.

Old 01-30-2006, 02:36 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

side note, the reason synthetic oils are out there is because it doesnt break down as easily so having that in your engine will give you that 5000+ miles per oil change, but ultimately changing your oil should be decided by your style of driving, if you go full throttle all the time well..... its not the best idea to wait every 5000 miles, but you shouldnt run an engine hard if its new, and for what i know you shouldnt look at running synthetic until later down the road anyways

Old 01-30-2006, 04:15 AM

Well I dont floor it at every stop light i approach but I do drive (and enjoy it while doing it). So I guess holding out to 5000 miles isnt too bad then.
Another question: What oil should I use for the oil changes. I dont plan on going to the dealership everytime, gets a little to expensive.

Old 01-30-2006, 04:27 AM