General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil on Spark Plug Accord 95

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 05:31 AM
Smile Oil on Spark Plug Accord 95, now new problem

Hi Gurus, Please don't get angry to see the thread title as lots of thread are already here for this problem. let me tell you brief history and i have basic car knowledge. i have accord 95 EXI with F22B3 Engine, the car is in Australia. i pulled the spark plug lead and found lots of oil in lead 2 and bit of oil in 1 and 4 eventually i jumped to research and gather the tiny knowledge that valve cover gasket 4 spark plug seal should cure the problem and they are relatively easy to install. i was over the moon to read that but some more video dragged me to hell instead. ok, here are my questions below.

1. all the parts i find online is for F22B1 Engine. should these part (cover gasket and 4 seals) fit on F22B3 engine?

2. Is the job same as F22B1 ?

3. in some online video (hats off to those kind people) showing for this problem it needs to change 4 o -rings under rocker arm assembly, is it necessary?

4. Can any extremely kind hearted guru give me OEM part numbers for valve cover gasket and 4 spark plug seal part number please.

Thank you for your kind reply

Last edited by mortuzahasan; 08-07-2014 at 07:02 PM.
Old 08-04-2014, 06:56 AM

The cover seal will be different for the VTEC vs non VETC. The grommet spark plug seals should fit regardless but Honda has two part numbers 12342-PTO-000 for non VETC and 12342-RYE-000 for VETC. The process for replacement is the same regardless of VTEC or non VETC. It is cheaper to get the valve cover gasket kit as Honda will supply the valve cover seal, the spark plug seals and the valve cover bolt seals in the kit. All you will need is RTV for the corners and seems.

Old 08-04-2014, 06:07 PM

Thanks for your info