General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Plug Socket Stuff

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2007, 12:34 PM
Default Plug Socket Stuff

So I bought some new iridium plugs for my newly purchased used Honda. I have no idea about the plugs that are current so I want to change them out. Plus, I've never done it before and I've been slowly been trying to give my car a DIY tune up. When I was at the store, I had the sales rep help me purchase a plug socket since I wasn't sure what size I needed. He grabbed the iridium plugs that i bought and sized them up to the correct size socket - 5/8"

So when I went to switch out the old plugs for the new, I used the socket, however the 5/8" plug socket seemed too big for the current plugs because I couldnt get a grip on it it. My ratchet just keept spinning.

Can I safely assume that the plugs that are currently in my car are a different size? Therefore a different brand? Is this now just a matter of getting a slightly smaller plug socket to take my current plugs out? Can there be different size plugs for the same vehicle? Are plug sizes dependent on the brand?

One more thing. How important is it to guage the gap on the new NGK iridium's since I'm installing the reccomended plug?

Old 01-08-2007, 04:12 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Plug Socket Stuff

There is no way to know what plugs are in the engine; I'd say to get a socket to fit them and remove them.
The recommended spark plug for that engine is NGK ZFR5F-11; [as per the underhood sticker]Only the parts stores recommend platinum plugs, something to do with 'profit' and countersales 'commision'.
You will need to be sure to let the fuel system pressurize all the way before starting the engine when cold if you are using "needlepoint" spark plugs.