General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PO 141 O2 senser - need advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2010, 07:07 AM
Default PO 141 O2 senser - need advice

My wife's 2003's CEL has been on for a year now and I have been putting it off, but now since we moved to NC, it needs to be fixed in order to pass inspection. I took it to advance and they came up with PO 141. Its a o2 senser. I would love to know if there are any photo's on where it is located on the car and if a buying a sensor from Advanced is worth it. I have never worked on a accord before. Its a 2003 vtec 4 cylinder engine. Any help would be great.

Old 12-30-2010, 08:19 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

P0141 is an electrical fault in the heating circuit of the secondary (aft of catalytic converter) O2 sensor. This usually means the heating element has failed open but could be a fuse (No 18 under dash), wiring fault, or connector fault.

First check fuse 18 and be sure it's good. Next step is to reset the ECU (Advance may not do this!) and see if code immediately returns. A scanner of some type is necessary to reset ECU. If code returns, then repair will be necessary.

O2 sensor is readily available from Honda, parts stores, ebay, and other online sources.

good luck

Old 12-30-2010, 05:09 PM

I have had 2 different Advance auto guys say its location is down under the hood area, but most everyone on this forum says its behind the cat under the pasenger seat or back pasenger seat area. What do you think, I tend to believe the guys on the forums then the advanced guys. Also, do you know if there is any step by step instructions on replaceing this sensor. Po141- Do you know of the part number from honda ?

Old 12-30-2010, 05:11 PM
Super Moderator