General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about if my engine is the original or not?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2010, 09:48 PM
Default Question about if my engine is the original or not?

Hello there,
Can you please advise me how I can find out if my engine in my 90 accord coupe EX is the originally engine or not. I have located and will provide below all info vin# is Honda Vin # 1HGCB7269LA018336

Engine Code A98300359

F22A4
With all this info there must be a way for me to tell if this is the original engine. I would think there is a website out there where you can locate with the above info if this is the original engine that came with the car from the factory. Please advise me thanks very much for your help as I am new at this.
Dave

Old 03-15-2010, 11:08 PM
Super Moderator

I don't think that the manufacturers 'tagged' engines that far back.
I think it was after 96 that there will be a VIN tag attached to the block.
What leads you to believe you have a swapped engine ?

Old 03-15-2010, 11:12 PM
Default follow up to your ?

Hello what is making me ? this is there was strange color grease pencil writing on some parts underneath the car. This usually means that the parts or the motor came from a junk yard.
The info I gave you in previous post is stamped/engraved on the motor. It does not have or come with the vin on the motor instead they put a engine code on there. Now my dilemma is finding out how to match up the engine code to the vin # that is on the car. There must be a way/website to see how these 2 #'s match up to tell if they came with each other. If you can ask or know anyone that might be able to help out in this matter I would appreciate it much.
Dave

Old 03-15-2010, 11:29 PM
Super Moderator

Yes I understand what information you are seeking;