General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Skipping Gears

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2006, 12:37 AM
CedarCanoe
Unregistered
Default Skipping Gears

I have a new 2006 Accord I4 with a 5 speed manual transmission.

The Owner's Manual states on p.170, "Avoid skipping gears when shifting up or down or serious transmission damage can occur."

I've been driving manual trannies for 30 years. I've never heard of such a thing. When you pull out to pass you often want to double down-shift. When you come up to a corner, it is common to approach in 5th gear, put the clutch in as speed drops, and then shift to 2nd or 3rd to pull through the corner.

Is this chapter written by paranoid lawyers, or is there a sound technical justification for this statement? I've asked a couple mechanics and mechanical engineers, and they share my bewilderment at this statement.

Old 05-25-2006, 12:55 AM
Default RE: Skipping Gears

I've been pushing in the clutch for about 40 years and I don't understand what they are saying either. DEPENDING on conditions I'll upshift 1 to 3 to 5. On the downshift I try to follow the gears down in order but 4th or 5th to 2nd isn't out of order depending on driving conditions. Follow your instincts, you've got the time in grade to know what you're doing.

Old 05-25-2006, 04:19 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member

ORIGINAL: CedarCanoe

Is this chapter written by paranoid lawyers, or is there a sound technical justification for this statement? I've asked a couple mechanics and mechanical engineers, and they share my bewilderment at this statement.

I think is Honda trying to find every little way out of doing warranty work,,,

customer ..........my tranny shift hard
Dealer ,,,,,,,,,,, did you ever skip gears??
customer ,,,,,mmmm yeaaaaaaaah ..but i have done it for years on all my cars