General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

slave cylinder boot

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 06:55 PM
Default slave cylinder boot

Hey again guys. Just a quick question. I am a noob as usual so please bear with me. I Have been getting that clutch squeak sound and some tutorials suggested putting high temp grease in the slave cylinder boot. I did that and it seems to have helped but I need to make sure it stays. Anyway I was not really sure what I was doing to I just pulled up the edge of the boot and got a liberal amount in there, but now one side of the boot is not attached to the rod anymore (the side to the left from the front of the car facing back). I don't want to destroy it with a screwdriver, what is the usual way to do this? is it safe to take off the bolts with the fluid still in there and whatnot?

Old 05-13-2013, 08:17 PM
Super Moderator

Are you talking about the little boot on the slave piston rod? Or the larger boot where the throw-out lever goes into the bellhousing?

How about grease at the ball/socket where the slave piston pushes against the throw-out lever.

Another popular place for squeaking noise, is the pivot ball for the throw-out lever. Tough to reach in there to get grease on that one.

Old 05-13-2013, 08:51 PM

For the boot that does not go on correctly, I am referring to the little one. I took the big one off before and put grease in there as far as I could reach, though it was getting dark so I could not really see if it got on anything important. The big boot went back in fine. I will try putting some on the connection too.