General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Smoke w/ burnt smell 93 accord ex (UPDATE: rear main seal)

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2007, 08:11 PM
metalmat
Unregistered
Default Smoke w/ burnt smell 93 accord ex (UPDATE: rear main seal)

1993 Honda Accord EX

This usually happens when I first start it up and drive it for a few minutes after it has been sitting there a day. A burnt smell with a little smoke comes out of the engine compartment, not a whole bunch of smoke but enough to worry. However, as I drive it tends to only happen at very short instances at random times. It smells like kind of burnt rubber.
Belts look fine, smoke seems to be coming from front of the engine compartment, first thoughts are a leak of some sort dripping on something hot.
(BTW, I am a noob at car repair).I would appreciate any help.

[hr]
Update: Took it over to NTB. They checked everything out and said that it is the rear main seal that is leaking People have told me to also check out the oil pan gasket, but I read that at around the 150k that the rear main seal tends to start leaking.

Old 01-01-2007, 08:22 PM
Default RE: Smoke w/ burnt smell coming from engine compartment, 93 accord ex

Check for an oil leak. Start with the obvious places first like oil plugs and all. You might have the oil in spark plug hole issue, pull out the plug wires and look there. If there is noticable smoke, you should be able to find the leak easily as it is probably a fairly large leak.

Also, I just remembered my dad had that problem with his car, he found out the oil change place hadn't put the filter on all the way and it was leaking from there, was smoking and stinky.

Old 01-01-2007, 08:28 PM
metalmat
Unregistered

That was my first thought, so at least I am on the right path and its not a problem where it would be too costly to fix.

Old 01-01-2007, 08:42 PM