General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

soft brake pedal

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2012, 12:49 PM
Default soft brake pedal

Hello everyone, I'm new to this and pretty new to the world of accord ownership. I have a 99 ex sedan 5 speed and i have had a spongy brake pedal now for about the past month. I have bled the brakes more times than I care to mention, have replaced a seized Lf caliper and the car is presently on her 3rd master cylinder (original failed, 1st replacement defective). As of now the brakes do feel better than before, but the pedal is still soft and travels about halfway before anything really happens. As I said before the brakes have been bled very well and all lines hard and soft are very good. I have consulted my father who's been a tech since before I was even a twinkle in his eye (has little to no experience with Honda however) and we have reason to believe the culprit to be a bad proportioning valve. I unplugged the abs and made a few panic stops with a couple of friends watching the wheels and no matter how hard I hit the brakes the rear tires would at the most BARELY lock up while the fronts would without fail. Before I go ahead and replace the proportioning valve I was wondering if there was A) anything else I could be overlooking, and B) is there any procedure to reset the valve so it sends the proper pressure to front and rear. I'm sorry for this being a little bit wrong, I just felt it helpful to add as much detail as possible. Thanks in advance.

Old 12-01-2012, 06:08 PM
Super Moderator

Are the bleeder valves on the calipers on the top or the bottom?

You may need to adjust the push rod on the new master cylinder.

Watch this video:

This is for a clutch master that has the push rod adjustment.

Old 12-01-2012, 09:11 PM