General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Steering problems while braking

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2007, 08:34 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Steering problems while braking

so i have just joined the forum a couple days ago and it seems like not a moment too soon. i am pretty new to car repair and just dealing with things as they arise. yesterday i replaced the lower ball joints b/c they lost their lube. it was a much bigger job than i anticipated. i had to take off the brake caliper to get to it as well. i drove it around afterward and everything seemed fine except that it sounded like air was being released when i pushed on the brake pedal. i don't know if this happened before or not, but the brakes didn't feel any different so i didn't think much of it. today though, the steering wheel seems to be vibrating while driving but jerks back and forth when braking. this seems kinda dangerous and don't want to drive it until i get it fixed. any ideas? i am probably way to optimistic in thinking that it is the aligment.

Old 10-01-2007, 10:10 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Steering problems while braking

Simple alignment issues usually cause steady pulling to one side or the other. Wobbling can be a couple different things.

First, check wheel balance & straightness. Sometimes the shop guy won't notice a bent wheel unless you ask him to look for it.

But my bets are on a loose suspension component. There's 3 ball joints at each wheel. Lowers are new (right?) & hopefully youinstalled & tightened them correctly... So you have the upper ball joints and the smaller ones at the steering tie rods. Check them for looseness. Then check the radius rod - it goes forward from the lower control arm over towards some rubber bushings where it's attached to the car's structure.