General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sudden Oil Consumption

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2010, 02:03 AM
Question Sudden Oil Consumption

Hey guys and gals; this is my first time on this forum. I thought I'd try this out in an attempt to help my sister-in-law find out what's wrong with her '96 Accord. It's a 4-cyl., 5-spd. with 114K milles on it. Several months ago, she found her oil level to be THREE quarts low, . That's 3/4 of capacity, judging from the info. found in the owner's manual. She always takes care of the car, has all recommended services done on time, and has had her oil chaged regularly for many years. The oil light on the dash didn't come on until she was that low on oil. (Defective sending unit you think?) Since this was the first unusual incident ever with this car, she simply assumed that she was 'shorted', the last time she had her oil changed. Then, last weekend, she discovered it was 3 quarts low AGAIN, . NO WARNING LIGHT THIS TIME! Consumption seems to be about 1 qt./1K miles. This doesn't seem dreadful, but why all of a sudden? Why is there not even a wisp of smoke from the tailpipe? (It doesn't leak anything.) How bad do you think she has hurt the motor? I did a search before posting here, but it only talks about an issue like this, with much newer models (2003-2005). Thanks for any help with this issue...I'd like to help her save this thing, if it's not too late already.

Old 08-08-2010, 06:55 AM
Super Moderator