General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TDC Position Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2008, 04:08 PM
Default TDC Position Help

Well after some weeks of having my 1993 Honda Accord Ex car I've been constantly irritated by the check engine light so I found out the code and it gave me 8 flashes so I figured out that the code meant it had something to do with the TDC position. Im new to fixing cars and I was wondering what does that mean and what do I have to replace to get this check engine light of my car.

Old 03-24-2008, 04:23 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: TDC Position Help

The TDC position sensor in that year is one of 3 sensors buried down inside the distributor. Each one is a little magnetic sensor that reads the points of a star-wheel passing by.

Apparently those are near impossible to remove from the distributor so the only way is to replace the distributor body. You can probably get a distributor body without a new ignitor or coil, but it's still not cheap.

I would spend some time checking for loose/dirty/corroded wiring at the distributor, or cracked wiring, or anything like that. You want to rule out all that stuff before buying a distributor ($$$).

Old 03-24-2008, 11:08 PM

I see thank you

Old 03-24-2008, 11:44 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

If the things listed above check out and it's still bad, a distributor from a junkyard cost me $85 so expect something in that price range.

Old 03-25-2008, 08:39 PM