General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Things you do to keep vehicle in good condition...

Old 01-13-2019, 06:05 PM
Default Things you do to keep vehicle in good condition...

Hello all. I have a 07 Accord 2.4l manual. It has a little over 174k. I have owned this car since Nov 06 and it had 7 miles when I pulled it off the lot. Recently I was doing some research and came across the estimated MPGs (23/31). I was saying to myself since I've owned the car I've never seen anything close to those numbers (I am a very spirited driver). I had a trip to take this weekend on the GA country roads and wanted to see what my car could actually do. In total I drove 252.8 miles and averaged 29.9mpg. I never knew that my car was capable of such good mileage.

I started thinking about what it takes for a car to stay in good condition to continue getting what you paid for. I have 4 cars/trucks and refuse to take my car into a dealership or an auto shop for anything other than tires or an alignment. I even hate taking my cars in for warranty issues. I am a true believer of preventative maintenance because I hate the thought of one of my cars breaking down on side of the road especially if the wife and kids are traveling without me.

What are the things you do to keep your vehicles in good condition? Listed below is everything I've done up until now on my car that I can remember:

Full synthetic oil - every 8500k (have oil tested every other oil change and adjust mileage as needed.
Air filter (K&N) - 7k
Cabin Filter (K&N) - 12k
Accelerator pedal sensor (Honda brand) - went out at 83k
coolant (Honda brand) - 100k
Thermostat - 100k
Heater core flush - 100k
Spark plugs (NGK) - 100k
Serpentine (Bando) -100k
Belt tensioner (Honda brand) - 100k
PCV (Honda) -100k
Radiator fan - went out at 107k
Clutch (throw out bearing making squeal noise due to condensation) - 120k
Half shafts - 120k
Water pump -120k
Radiator - 120k