General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Tore all the boots for ball joints and tie rod; facing replacement problems

Old 07-17-2007, 01:25 PM
Default Tore all the boots for ball joints and tie rod; facing replacement problems

I felt a little adventurous and decided to change the front wheel bearings of my 99 Accord EX. Its my first project of this stature. I would notsay I did OK, cause I broke the ABSspeed sensor, and tore all the ball joint boots (upper, lower and the tie rod boots). I've ordered the ABS sensor, but have hit a dead end with the boots.

1) Where can I order the boots. (Autozone etc don't have these.From the dealerI would have to buy the entire joint sets, they wouldn't sell just the boots). I shopped online, butcouldn't findone for my 99 Accord (they have a bunch of them for 90-97).

2) Do I need to buy any special tools to install the boots. Seems to me that its easy to take out those boots, butreplacing with new ones could be another story.

I would appreciate your help. My car is up on jacks for thepast few days.

Old 07-17-2007, 02:46 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Tore all the boots for ball joints and tie rod; facing replacement problems

I got those boots for my '98 from manhonda.com but that was awhile ago. Should be the same for your '99.

There's a tool to make it easy, but mostly it's just atedious PITAgetting that wire clip around the big end of each boot.

Used a pickle fork on the ball joints, right?? I hate those because they ALWAYS chew up the boots. Use a small gear puller next time.

Old 07-22-2007, 08:52 AM
Default RE: Tore all the boots for ball joints and tie rod; facing replacement problems

Thanks. I ordered the boots and waiting for them to arrive.