General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torn CV boot, what to do, what's it doing...

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2012, 11:10 AM
Default Torn CV boot, what to do, what's it doing...

Hi guys
99 4cyl accord lx

I noticed a pretty good rip on the driver side CV boot when i was doing the oil yesterday. I'm assuming that's the reason why i've had some rattling when idling and also turning so obviously that needs to be changed. i've never done it on an accord before but me and my brother did it on his jeep last year, had to change the whole axel.

Is that the case with the accords as well? saw some pretty great tutorials on how to do this hear and on on youtube so either way i could probably do it, but i'd rather not spend the money on a new axel if i could just change the boots.

Also - i have the p0440 error code that usually means your gas cap is lose. it isn't. i also replaced it not that long ago. I don't suppose that could be related to the joints? or causing its own rattling?

i was under there looking for loose bolts near the converter and the exhaust but didn't find any.

i assume i'm looking at 2 unrelated problems but just in case i thought i'd ask
any help would be most appreciated!
thanks all!

Old 10-08-2012, 11:28 AM
Super Moderator

if you have clicking when turning one direction or the other, than your axle is perished...needs replacement. if not noise while turning, you could replace just the boot, they make kits for it, but depending how long the joint has gone without proper lubrication you may be changing an axle sooner than later....

Old 10-08-2012, 11:34 AM