General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What should do before recharging A/C?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2009, 01:30 PM
Default What should do before recharging A/C?

I am helping a relative to get the A/C to work again. It is '92 Accord. The A/C has not been used in the last 10 yrs. There is no air coming out on the high side and low side valves when pressed. It appears that the R-12 refrigerant is completely gone. The heating is working normal during winter time.

We would like to convert it to R-134a. What should I check or replace in the cooling system before recharging it? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Old 06-09-2009, 02:30 PM

I'm no AC expert, but I would simply buy the inexpensive R12 to R134a conversion kit and charge it up. You could buy some of the r134a that has the UV dye in it to try to see if it is leaking from anywhere. Sure, the r12 had to have leaked out somehow, but when you say the AC hasn't been used in 10 years that does not surprise me.
You may want to wait for some AC expert opinions first though. (There are several members on here who are)
I just wanted to put in my $0.02 - whether it is worth anything or not.

Old 06-09-2009, 04:43 PM
Super Moderator

I don't know what needs replaced to convert from r12 to r134a, but I am sure that TexasHonda knows that answer.

You should get a manifold gauge to make sure that your a/c system is charged, and you will need it later when evacuating and recharging the system. It sounds like all of the freon is gone though.

There must have been a leak somewhere. Freon evaporates quickly, but the refrigerant oil will remain and collect dust. Look over the entire system (behind the a/c pulley, at any junction). The shaft seal on compressor is another common place for a leak.

Old 06-10-2009, 09:42 AM