Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your Accord breathe better here.

First Intake advice.

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 08:14 PM
Default First Intake advice.

alright guys, i recently got a 98 honda accord ex with the v6 vtec. im a complete car noob.. but the first thing i want to do is put in a short ram intake. i want to know what will give me the best sound and the most power, cost isnt really too much of an issue. any advice?

Old 01-12-2012, 08:44 PM

IMO they're pretty much the same as far as performance goes between brands. Any top brand would be a good choice. AEM, Injen, Fujita, K&N, etc. Metal tube intakes give less performance gains than a plastic tube intake. This is because the metal tube retains more heat than the plastic tubes do.

Old 01-12-2012, 10:51 PM
Newest Of Newbies

Honestly dude, this HP intakes are a scam. They don't do much else besides spiral the air as its being sucked in. You'll see MAYBE a 1-3 hp difference. In my build i got 2 flex pipes. One from the filter to the TB then one from the filter to the fender.

Old 01-13-2012, 07:10 AM
Supper Moderator

best first advice I can give you is....SEARCH. This topic has been
covered 34563432146841231684515321 times and then some. Sorry to sound like a D-bag but since your new better start you out the right way.

Originally Posted by Sparkknocker
IMO they're pretty much the same as far as performance goes between brands. Any top brand would be a good choice. AEM, Injen, Fujita, K&N, etc. Metal tube intakes give less performance gains than a plastic tube intake. This is because the metal tube retains more heat than the plastic tubes do.

Also a metal pipe might get little bit hotter but reduces turbulence unlike the plastic tubes will. So right there is a power lose.

A good name brand intake will produce better numbers...it’s been proven (search for it)