Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your Accord breathe better here.

New Header Installed Today

  #1  
Old 03-06-2013, 09:19 PM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default New Header Installed Today

Installed new spyder performance header today, as expected no real power gain or loss felt but good sound.

You can really hear everything the engine is doing compared to stock.

I notice that it heats up quick and cools off just as quick, im wondering if the heat (due to no heat shield) will affect the alternator or a/c hose that are near by?

Should i get heat wrap?

As far as mpg, unsure of any effect as i forgot to reset ecu after install.

Will snap some pics tomorrow in the daylight and post them for all to see
 

Last edited by firefighter44; 03-31-2013 at 10:50 PM.
  #2  
Old 03-07-2013, 07:40 AM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,518
Default

If you're driving I think there's plenty of air movement so the heat won't be a problem.

Long periods of idling might be the situation where you want some kind of heat shield. Heat wrap will probably promote corrosion more than a heat shield.
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-2013, 08:15 AM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default

unfortunatly the spyder header came with no way to mount any type of heat shield.
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:51 AM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,518
Default

I had a DC header (95 Integra) and it also didn't have anything. I thought about fastening the heatshield from the stock manifold just using some kind of straps or home-made bracket (ghetto engineering). In the end I just never installed it. But I don't make a habit of idling the engine without driving. Stuck in line getting out of parking decks never seemed to do any damage to anything.
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-2013, 12:52 PM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default

sounds good, so when i was doing the install as i was taking out the oem pipes the wires for the o2 sensor pulled out of the plug so i had to look up and figure out which way they went back in but i got it all put back together and working great
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-2013, 07:39 PM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default

been busy at work and havent had a chance to get in pics while its daylight out but will try to get some tomorrow
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-2013, 06:09 PM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default

Ok sorry it took so long. Here are the pics as promised



 
Attached Thumbnails New Header Installed Today-2013-03-091448421017745952.jpg   New Header Installed Today-2013-03-09144855-383861998.jpg   New Header Installed Today-2013-03-09144905-2029725847.jpg   New Header Installed Today-2013-03-09144918-1174181458.jpg  
  #8  
Old 03-09-2013, 07:51 PM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,518
Default

Looking at the pictures, I think I WOULD try to shield the alternator wires & the AC hose.

Thinking back to my Integra, the alternator was on the backside of the engine, so it wasn't a problem. And I can't remember whether that AC hose was so close to the header.

Maybe you can find something shiny to wrap those 2 wires/hoses. Reflecting the radiant heat would help.
 
  #9  
Old 03-09-2013, 08:12 PM
firefighter44's Avatar
Almost A Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 267
Default

that a/c hose im not to worried about because even though it looks like just a black hose, its actually a a/c hose wrapped in heavy gauge "tin foil" and then wrapped with electrical tape so it has own "shielding".

The alt and wires are the real concern!
 
  #10  
Old 03-29-2013, 05:36 AM
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10
Default

Hey firefighter44,
I did the same as you. Pulling my stock pipe off the wires from the O2 came out. Do you have the configuration for it? Or how did you do it? Pics would be nice. I tried 3 times to put in the wires according to the manual diagram but failed and my cel now is on blinking code 41.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Header Installed Today


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.