New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

1996 Accord Coupe

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2017, 08:27 AM
Default 1996 Accord Coupe

Hi, I just purchased a 1996 Accord EX coupe 5 speed from our local Honda mechanic. He bought the car new from the dealer. I am new to owning a car and new to stick shift. It's amazing how quickly I've picked it up! I would like to save money and do some of the maintenance myself and obviously this is an old car so I'm wondering what things should I be looking for. Do I need go drive less aggressively due to its age? How do I prolong the life of the clutch? Also I'm starting to think there's something wrong with the fuel gage and wondering how I can diagnose this? My family has owned Hondas since the 80s so I'm familiar with them. Thanks a lot!

Old 03-14-2017, 10:11 AM
Super Moderator

Can you get the maintenance history from him?

Fluid changes & sparkplugs are the easy stuff, because they're needed kinda frequently.

The biggie is the timing belt. It's an interference engine so a broken timing belt normally means bent valves. Take it easy until you know for sure (or change it anyway).

Driving less aggressively depends on the engine's condition. Not automatically required. Clutch life depends on how much you slip it from each stop. And how violently you engage the clutch. Make that smooth & the clutch will be OK.

Old 03-14-2017, 10:18 AM

Originally Posted by JimBlake
Can you get the maintenance history from him?

Fluid changes & sparkplugs are the easy stuff, because they're needed kinda frequently.

The biggie is the timing belt. It's an interference engine so a broken timing belt normally means bent valves. Take it easy until you know for sure (or change it anyway).