New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Future Honda Engineer here to get familiar with Honda Engines

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 06:16 PM
Smile Future Honda Engineer here to get familiar with Honda Engines

Hi there!

I'm a Reliability Engineer who formerly worked with John Deere Power Systems (that means I'm pretty much 100% diesel, unfortunately) here to get familiar with both the 4 and 6 cylinder engines used in Accords. I'm currently interviewing with Honda for a position in their Engine Testing department.

What kind of maintenance do you most have to mind? What problems do you have to look out for? Do you know of any simple repairs or tricks that you've used to avoid big problems or fix your car quickly? Do you use a particular fuel additive or type of engine oil? What is your favorite thing about your Honda's performance, especially in terms of response on the highway? Does your engines thermostat seem to stay within regular bounds most of the time or does it take way too long to heat up or way too long to cool down? Is there a particular way Honda engines have changed over the years that you AREN'T especially fond of?

Anything you could tell me about what makes the Honda Accord (or Honda) engines different would be a big help. Thank you all and I hope to hear from you soon!

Old 10-19-2015, 08:08 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to HAF.

Many of the questions are a bit of a debate....fuel additives and oil will always get a long winded debate, some science but most is personal preference.

Good luck

Old 10-19-2015, 10:28 PM

Thank you for the kind welcome and thoughtful comment poorman212!

Originally Posted by poorman212
Many of the questions are a bit of a debate....fuel additives and oil will always get a long winded debate, some science but most is personal preference.
Well then... let the debate begin. I hope you all don't mind if I ask follow up questions to what you're saying.