New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New driver/owner/forum member

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2012, 12:16 AM
Default New driver/owner/forum member

Good evening everyone,

My name is Tyler (rhamza is my nickname) and I'm a 21 year old college student out of school for the summer, and this is my project to keep me out of trouble.

I've been driving for the past 10 months but this is my first car, a 96 Honda Accord LX (manual) 2.2 4cyl.

My car, finally I have one in my name, was wrecked by the previous owner. She...well she couldn't drive a stick and she was not paying attention to the road an ended up in a three car pile up. She happened to be the last person in the said pile up. There was a lot of cosmetic damage, mainly the bumper, hood, both front fenders, and the headlights with slight structural damage to the radiator core support.

For the past week I've been working very diligently and have so far fixed most of the minor issues. The entire carpet and upholstery has been cleaned to near factory conditions despite the hundreds of spills from rough shifts... (seriously...learn to drive a stick before riding around with open drink containers...it helps everyone involved), replaced the airbags, and the radiator core support. Now I am to the point of pulling the engine out and replacing the motor mounts.

It seemed like a lot of work for an 'older' car that won't end up being worth a lot, but I bought the car for $400 from the girl, and so far I have less than $400 more into it. When I am finished, if nothing major appears to be wrong with the engine, I should only be at $1100 total. I cannot wait to share the repair pictures and the final photograph. I'm not sure if I want to sell it when I am finished because I've always love the Accord...

Anyway, I look forward to getting to know you guys and girls!

Cheers everyone

Old 06-05-2012, 06:31 AM