New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New to Forum and Honda Cars

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2016, 10:59 AM
Default New to Forum and Honda Cars

Hello,

My name is Pete, I live just outside of Denver CO, and I have a 1998 Honda Accord LX 4 cyl that I purchased for my brother in law who is moving out of his parent's house and trying life on his own. It's a long story there, but let's just say I am now responsible for maintaining this car

I've never had Honda cars before, so I'm new to that part of it. I have been a mechanic in one way or another for over 20 years, so I'm not new to that.

Thanks for reading, I have lots of reading to do myself!

See you on the road

Old 10-28-2016, 11:49 AM
Super Moderator

Nothing too revolutionary compared to most other car makes. The front brakes are "normal" instead of the captive rotors of previous years. Only a few maintenance things are different for Hondas.
- PS fluid is different. Don't use the stuff that says "all makes & models".
- ATF is different (if it's an automatic).
- Check ATF dipstick warmed up but turned off - not idling like other cars.
- Drain/fill the ATF, don't power-flush it.
- Cooling system really doesn't like to have air pockets in it. Bleeder on T-stat housing.
- Engine spins "backwards" and that's why it's installed the other way around.

Old 10-28-2016, 11:50 AM

Hello, Pete
Welcome to the forum. Wishing you the very best with the Accord

Old 11-01-2016, 02:40 PM

hello,

I am new to the site, I have previously found the form very useful but never actively participated. i am planing to do just that now, I drive 2014 Honda Accord and live in the NYC metro area. I purchased a car about two years ago new and have put over 100K on it, i am obsessed with maintenance.

Old 11-02-2016, 04:48 AM
Former Sponsor

Welcome to the forum, this is a great place to have all your questions answered by the many experts on here. Ask away.

Old 11-02-2016, 01:22 PM