Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Laptop won't turn on, can anybody help?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 02:06 PM
Default Laptop won't turn on, can anybody help?

I have a kind of older model Dell laptop. Not used for anything spectacular, just basic stuff. It was refurbished and bought for $200 last year. Just looking for some suggestions if anybody knows anything about laptops. It worked fine for a while.
All of a sudden, the fricken thing won't charge. it won't turn on even if it is plugged in to the wall by the power cord. I got it to start charging once, then my wife decided to use it too soon, and it died. Now it won't come on anymore. The power cord has one of those little black boxes in the middle that has a green light on when it is plugged in. the light still comes on when it is plugged into the wall, but the light on the laptop that shows when it is charging will not come on anymore.
Any suggestions? I am a total noob when it comes to laptops.

Old 03-27-2008, 02:31 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: Laptop won't turn on, can anybody help?

That happened to my iBook. What happened to me is the socket that the charging plug plugs into broke loose from the motherboard. Two of the four pins broke at the solder joint. The only ones holding were the ground, which has two pins that are attached to the outer metal housing of the socket. Those pins are only ground and won't allow the laptop to get power, while still holding the socket in place like it isn't broken. If this is the same problem you have, you're going to have to open it up, desolder the socket, and resolder it restoring the connections. I have a lot of experience with soldering and such so if you need help I can help you through it. I hope this all made sence I am pretty [sm=smokin.gif]ed.

Old 03-27-2008, 02:57 PM