Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Took the Accord to AutoX...HORRIBLE!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2009, 10:42 AM
Default Took the Accord to AutoX...HORRIBLE!!!

So on Halloween I took the Accord to its first autocross event. Let's just say I'm not a NOVICE autox'er, but the car did horrible. Just kept plowing forward like it was going out of style. I got to trail brake it a couple of times, but that was it. Brakes worked awesome (Hawk HPS pads with EBC rotors), but the damn thing was just NOT fun to drive out there.

I'm either going to get a new car or start to tune the suspension, cannot go out there again like that.

Old 11-02-2009, 03:00 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

It's the stock suspension, it drives like a boat. What did you expect?

Old 11-02-2009, 03:52 PM
Super Moderator

... I was gonna post some stupid wisecrack about that

How can you tell the difference between an Accord and an S-2000...?
(one of the drivers is smiling)

Seriously, the Accord is a nice car, but it is what it is.

Old 11-02-2009, 07:31 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member

why would you take a fwd car auto xing ?

Old 11-02-2009, 09:31 PM

Originally Posted by status
why would you take a fwd car auto xing ?
why not, used to take my Corolla autoxing all the time, and I ran in class "I" when I did, and I still did really well. I had completely changed up the whole suspension, but still, the Accord with stock suspension = boat.

Okay, it's not a bad car...for people who don't drive past 4k rpm, and have no clue what ABS is b/c they never have stepped on the brakes that hard, or their version of burning rubber it when there is ice on the ground. I love to autocross, I have done several times, but even since I got the Accord I decided to stay away from it...until this past weekend, the car is not designed for this, and to think this is one of the better family sedans, God help us for wanting to have a little fun!

Old 11-03-2009, 08:13 AM