Suspension Talk about your suspension within.

Newbie wants to lower his car

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2010, 12:41 PM
Default Newbie wants to lower his car

Hello fellow HAF members,
this is my first car and the first Honda that i have actually driven. It is a 2dr 4clr 1998 Honda accord. I live in New York and as the summer approaches i have had that sudden urge to hook up my car. I am looking to drop my car and I wanted to know if anyone in New York would be able to tell me what would be the appropriate drop due to the pot wholes and such. I also wanted to know how to go about it, keeping in mind that I am a student and cant afford to go all out.

Old 03-21-2010, 07:21 PM

Coilovers offer the best drop, but it is also the most expensive. A spring/strut combo is your other option, but don't just throw lowering springs on stock shocks.

Old 03-21-2010, 10:02 PM
Super Moderator

https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/for...ad.php?t=12897

you want to read this thread.

also, i'm moving you to suspension since it's what you're looking to do.

Old 03-25-2010, 03:10 AM
Default thank you guys

[QUOTE=keep_hope_alive;199466]https://www.hondaaccordforum.com/for...ad.php?t=12897

the forum on suspension was quite helpful gave me a better idea of what my options were and what were the implications...think i will save up and go with coilovers which is more expensive but better in the long run for the health of my car.

Old 03-30-2010, 12:42 PM
Super Moderator

that thread helped me as well. mostly, i was curious what brands were worth looking at. i'll be making a suspension purchase shortly.

Old 03-31-2010, 02:02 AM
Newest Of Newbies