Tires & Wheels What wheels are you rollin' around on? Discuss wrapping your rims in here.

couple tire questions.

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 06:33 PM
Default couple tire questions.

I have a 94 accord LX 4door. Stock rims are really starting to look like garbage. In the spring I plan on doing rims, tires, suspension and fresh paint.

First question is, (since I'm a total newb to this car) what the stock rim size, and whats the best reasonable tire size...15? 16? 17? width? offset?

also, are there any special tuners or spedometer gears that I need to get to have the odometer read correctly if I changed the size from stock? I dont want to be running up the mileage on the car if I'm not actually going as far as it says i am lol

Old 12-26-2007, 08:59 PM
Default RE: couple tire questions.

Assuming it's the same as the CB7, I believe the stock size is 5.5J (5.5" wide rim) X 15 (15" diameter). Rim width is important relative to the tyre section width (which isn't the tread width, but the nominal tyre case width measured at the widest part at the sidewall, but just to make this more complicated this will in reality vary on the same tyre when fitted to different width rims). I'll bet the stock tyre size is 195/60/15 (195 being the section width in millimetres, 60 being the aspect ratio, 15 being rim diameter in inches, I don't know why tyre manufacturers insist on mixing metric and imperial measurement units, an odd historical convention I expect), which is a very wide tyre for that rim width (gives a softer ride).