Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

15" Subs????

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 09:47 PM
hype_killz
Unregistered
Default 15" Subs????

newbie here, first post...im 16 and my parents bought a 95 accorde ex 4 door, i was wondering if two 15" subs could fit in the trunk, what's the space needed for to boxed 15" subs?

Old 08-24-2006, 01:16 AM
19Accord97
Unregistered
Default RE: 15" Subs????

Assuming the trunk space on a 95 and 97 Accord are the same...it depends. The subs themselves will fit and the box will most likely be very tight unless you get a compact one. Go to Circuit City or Best Buy and measure the height of a box for 15's. I have two 12's in the back on my car and the Cap, and amp are screwed to the top of the box and I have about 2 or 3 inches to spare if that. My box is pushed to the very back of my backseats and since I have aftermarket speakers they almsot touch the amp, so keep that in mind. In my opinion a box for 15's would fit but the amp would have to be on the side or on the floor of your trunk. Or go with some 10 or 12 inch subs, most often size doesnt matter, its how many RMS watts they can handle. Good luck!

Old 08-24-2006, 08:32 AM

My god, ya, two 15" subs are overkill IMHO. It's more for being able to say, "ya, I got two 15's in the trunk". So, if you're really serious about it sounding good, then go with the higher quality 10's or 12's. You'll be able to fit more in there and it will sound awesome (with less fit issues). Spend more time worrying about amps/wiring/signal, than sub size. I've competed many years, and never with anything more than ONE 12" sub. Sounded fine to me and a lotta judges.
Best of luck, and you have plenty of time to have fun with car-audio.

Old 08-24-2006, 06:51 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member