Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Adding amp/sub/component speakers to stock head unit questions...

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2015, 06:13 PM
Default Adding amp/sub/component speakers to stock head unit questions...

2016 Sport

Does the stock head unit provide a clean enough signal to do so?

Does the stock alternator provide enough power to add one or even two more amps to the system?

I'm very very new to this car so any input or suggestions to where I can find answers are great.

Thanks for accepting me into the honda community.

Matt

Old 10-19-2015, 11:48 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome!

I have a 2014 Sport. There are very few differences between yours and mine. You can see my build log (it's long) for what i've done. I have a competition-worthy build for SQ and will compete in IASCA next year (along with judging events). I used stock speaker locations (but extensively treated the vehicle).

I have done extensive testing on the stock head unit. i even bypass the internal stock amp to provide RCA outputs (that allow for full volume range without distortion).

I've also done testing on the stock alternator - which has CANBus control and cannot be replaced. I'm looking to bypass the ELD and force voltage up to 14.4VDC. It currently regulates 12.5VDC under most conditions (headlights cause a jump to 14.4VDC as does regenerative braking).

Check out my build log, then hit me up with specific questions. I have a ton of disassembly photos as well.

Old 10-20-2015, 08:57 AM