Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Adding amp/sub/component speakers to stock head unit questions...

  #1  
Old 10-19-2015, 06:13 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 42
Default Adding amp/sub/component speakers to stock head unit questions...

2016 Sport

Does the stock head unit provide a clean enough signal to do so?

Does the stock alternator provide enough power to add one or even two more amps to the system?

I'm very very new to this car so any input or suggestions to where I can find answers are great.

Thanks for accepting me into the honda community.

Matt
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-2015, 11:48 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

Welcome!

I have a 2014 Sport. There are very few differences between yours and mine. You can see my build log (it's long) for what i've done. I have a competition-worthy build for SQ and will compete in IASCA next year (along with judging events). I used stock speaker locations (but extensively treated the vehicle).

I have done extensive testing on the stock head unit. i even bypass the internal stock amp to provide RCA outputs (that allow for full volume range without distortion).

I've also done testing on the stock alternator - which has CANBus control and cannot be replaced. I'm looking to bypass the ELD and force voltage up to 14.4VDC. It currently regulates 12.5VDC under most conditions (headlights cause a jump to 14.4VDC as does regenerative braking).

Check out my build log, then hit me up with specific questions. I have a ton of disassembly photos as well.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-2015, 08:57 AM
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Eastern seaboard
Posts: 10
Default

Check out Cruchtfield.com a good source for fitment. 1st I would suggest a bigger battery. 2nd I would suggest a base package, sub woofer 10 or 12 inch with its own amplifier. 3rd is replace all interior speakers with its own 4 channel amp. 4th step, replace head unit. Simply stated Honda parts are not up to par for a good audio system, these upgrades can be done separately or all at once to save on installation cost. Good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 10-21-2015, 01:35 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

replacing the head unit is expensive and problematic. the Metra kit is $400 and works poorly. the new head units are integrated and should stay in place. this sucks because the active noise cancelling system causes bass roll-off that isn't defeatable with the base unit (non-touch screen).

Honda put more effort into a quiet ride then they did a rocking sound system.
 
  #5  
Old 10-21-2015, 07:12 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by keep_hope_alive View Post
replacing the head unit is expensive and problematic. the Metra kit is $400 and works poorly. the new head units are integrated and should stay in place. this sucks because the active noise cancelling system causes bass roll-off that isn't defeatable with the base unit (non-touch screen).

Honda put more effort into a quiet ride then they did a rocking sound system.
Yes I'm planning on leaving the stock unit in place as I don't need a competition system, however, you are saying that the active noise cancelling system is currently not able to be disconnected ?

I understand that this system produces a pronounced "boom" through the speakers upon start up, is that true?

And yes I have the non-touch screen unit that comes in the sport models.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-2015, 11:21 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

Originally Posted by Mattc941 View Post
Yes I'm planning on leaving the stock unit in place as I don't need a competition system, however, you are saying that the active noise cancelling system is currently not able to be disconnected ?

I understand that this system produces a pronounced "boom" through the speakers upon start up, is that true?

And yes I have the non-touch screen unit that comes in the sport models.
just disconnect the ANC mics to resolve any feedback problems. No "boom" on startup if properly installed with good equipment. mine is silent and noise-free.
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-2015, 11:07 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 42
Default

Great thanks so much! Do you mind if I message you directly if other specific questions?
 
  #8  
Old 10-27-2015, 10:09 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

Originally Posted by Mattc941 View Post
Great thanks so much! Do you mind if I message you directly if other specific questions?
that is fine, i can also share my phone number if a discussion proves more useful.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jcarver6
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
07-15-2013 01:57 PM
BlackKnight
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
10-04-2012 06:36 PM
matt073192
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
03-31-2010 05:55 AM
Brian R
Sights n Sounds
7
12-30-2008 10:37 PM
henrynj
Audio/Visual Electronics
15
03-23-2007 01:03 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding amp/sub/component speakers to stock head unit questions...


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.