Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Adding multichanger, amp & sub to standard bose set up

  #1  
Old 09-29-2012, 01:32 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Barnsley, UK
Posts: 8
Default Adding multichanger, amp & sub to standard bose set up

Hi all,

Only bought the Accord yesterday but can't live without some sounds in it. It's driving us crazy already!

It's had 1 owner from new and nothing has been changed in the car. It is all the original Bose system. Unfortunately it's only a tape player. Paul may have a load of tapes, but I don't think I own more than 3!

Is it possible to keep the head unit and add CD multichanger to it (I have one)? If so, is there wiring already in place (factory fitted) or do I need to jack into the back of the head unit?

Also, I have an amp & sub I would like to put in (they've been with me in all my cars). Does the original head unit support low level outputs?

Thanking you in advance.
Alison (typing) & Paul
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:36 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,213
Default

Replace everything. Bose does not integrate well. Here in the states, Bose wasn't an option. Integration can be had in some US models to feed a signal to the Bose amp from aftermarket HU but sound still sucks.

New head unit with modern features and new speakers all around and then add the amp and sub. Then you will be happy.
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:36 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,213
Default

Oh, and all new wiring for speakers, don't reuse any Bose wiring.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
frezel
Audio/Visual Electronics
28
09-19-2018 12:06 PM
jcarver6
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
07-15-2013 01:57 PM
central34
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
03-16-2011 07:27 PM
turfer198
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
11-17-2010 12:26 AM
Ger2279
Audio/Visual Electronics
6
05-28-2009 01:32 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding multichanger, amp & sub to standard bose set up


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.