Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Alpine with iPod

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2007, 08:38 PM
hondacivic5speed
Unregistered
Default Alpine with iPod

Hi everybody,

As you can see by my name, I was shopping for a Civic but...the deal was too sweet: I just drove home in my new '07 Accord LX!

Now I need to intergrate my iPod, and from what I've gathered most people are using patches like Blitzsafe and USA Spec, which give you an AUX input to plug in your iPod...? Forgive me, I'm no techie.

Basically, I want a radio unit that will display and control my song tracks. My friend has such a set up in his Scion (the iPod is hooked up under the conscole and displays the tracks on his stereo). I'm pretty sure this won't work on my factory Accord, so I was looking at the Alpine units.

Does anyone have an Alpine like this? Is it hard to control the tracks? Do I need crazy wiring? Any input is greatly appreciated, before I go next week into sound shop and get ripped off.

Thanks for your help!
5speed...ACCORD

Old 08-07-2007, 09:55 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: Alpine with iPod

I have an Alpine CDA-9855 and I had to buy a second $100 box to connect my iPod. The newer Alpine decks these days have a wire connected directly to the deck. On my deck it is PITA to scroll through playlists and tracks, so I usually just unplug it, select what I want, hit play, and plug it back in. The second generation of Alpine iPod decks feature the single wire, full-speed integratio, and a better UI for scrolling through songs (I believe it's through the **** and not the slider bar). If you aren't looking to add betters speakers and subs later then don't spend your money on a new deck and just have Honda add the iPod support.

Old 08-07-2007, 02:45 PM
hondacivic5speed
Unregistered