Anyone Been Able To Fit A Double Din In The Gen 8 Upper Screen? - Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Go Back  Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums > Your Ride > Audio/Visual Electronics
Reload this Page >

Anyone Been Able To Fit A Double Din In The Gen 8 Upper Screen?

Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Anyone Been Able To Fit A Double Din In The Gen 8 Upper Screen?

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 11-30-2017, 10:20 AM
Jp267's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 8
Default Anyone Been Able To Fit A Double Din In The Gen 8 Upper Screen?

Just wondering if anyone has come up with a novel solution. Bought Sony Double Din screen, single Din rear, Android Auto Hu. Would love to figure out how to get it in the upper screen on a 2010 LX.

Thanks for any suggestions, or pointing me to videos, or info on making the change.

Appreciated! 😀
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2017, 09:13 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,195
Default

Interesting idea. i haven't seen it done yet. Your first step will be to disassemble the dash and determine what space you have to work with. Are you comfortable with some fabrication?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2017, 10:18 PM
Jp267's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by keep_hope_alive View Post
Interesting idea. i haven't seen it done yet. Your first step will be to disassemble the dash and determine what space you have to work with. Are you comfortable with some fabrication?
I'm an electrical engineer with a minor in industrial design and prototyping so I have all the tools. Just got my hands on electrical schematics today and had some sheets of ABS shipped. Once I make sense of the schematics and have some time I'll rip into it and post results here. Figured why re-invent the wheel if it's been done. 😀
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2017, 01:17 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,195
Default

Cool. I'm also an EE with analog and digital circuit design and power system emphasis.

You may end up wanting to add some resin/filler to the shopping cart to mold a mount in that looks factory.

There are some foreign screen kits that appear to do what you want
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
frezel
Audio/Visual Electronics
4
04-28-2011 12:34 AM
Homeys1978
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
09-07-2007 12:33 PM
Eclips3
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
12-28-2006 04:10 AM
aka22
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
12-13-2006 07:28 AM
dabflyboy
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
10-10-2006 02:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Anyone Been Able To Fit A Double Din In The Gen 8 Upper Screen?


Advertising

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.