Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Coupe/Sedan head unit interchangeable?

  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 11:44 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default Coupe/Sedan head unit interchangeable?

I just bought a 2003 Accord Sedan which the preset buttons on the radio do not function (cannot save presets, set clock, etc.). Also the back speakers do not work. I have found a used one that came out of a wrecked 2003 coupe for around $150. It looks identical to the one in my car. I just wanted to make sure there were no strange differences that I need to know about, and that it will work in my car. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:36 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

yep. coupe and sedan (Same trim level) have same head units. different trim levels had different models, though the basic pins are the same.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 11:51 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks. Don't you think that most likely it is something else besides the non-functioning buttons in the head unit that would cause the back speakers to not work?
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 07:26 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

the 2003-2004 head units were notorious for failure. honestly, an aftermarket head unit is your best bet. even the stock speakers will sound better with an aftermarket deck. a $120 Kenwood eXcelon is a nice choice.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:52 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah I kind of have a dilemma. I know the aftermarket ones would be a lot better, but the nice install kits which replace the heat/ac controls are a bit pricey for me. Not sure if I want to stick one down in the cubby hole or not. Another thing I thought of if I were to do that, is how do I put the radio code back in if the preset buttons do not work? It also drives me nuts that the clock displays the wrong time and I can't reset it. Is there a way to just turn it off if I go aftermarket?
 
  #6  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:23 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

certainly, buying the nice kit AND a new head unit is an investment of $250-300 at a minimum. maybe look for one used?
 
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:58 PM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 862
Default

I know there was at least one recall on that headunit. take it up to honda and see what they say. they replaced mine for free when my lcd went out.
also there is a recall on the power steering preasure hose as well. I got my notification a month after I replaced mine. you can have them fix that while you are there too.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
natareno92
General Tech Help
1
01-06-2015 01:30 PM
hatekhaos
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
09-14-2011 07:46 AM
Queen eiko
General Tech Help
0
01-24-2010 12:09 AM
mgmvt
General Tech Help
1
08-04-2009 12:32 AM
mgmvt
General Tech Help
0
08-03-2009 06:29 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Coupe/Sedan head unit interchangeable?


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.