Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Dash Camera Installation Help/Advice

  #1  
Old 03-04-2013, 03:12 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default Dash Camera Installation Help/Advice

Hi guys,
I have a 2010 Accord Coupe EX-L 4cyl. I am interested in installing a dash camera. Could you give me some advice on how to go about that? I would really like to install it in the grill, if at all possible. Or, I could install it on the dash, but I want the wiring to be connected with the car (not by plugging in to my AC outlets).
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-07-2013, 07:36 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

what do you expect to use for the monitor?

you can use fuse taps to add a 12V fused circuit that is dedicated for the new camera system. and run new wiring for it. note the wiring size you use determines what size fuse you need (fuse is sized to protect the wire from melting and causing a fire).

you will need to run cabling through the firewall to install the camera in the front grill. don't you want it behind you? why do you want one in front of you? regardless, running wire requires removing panels and possibly drilling holes and using grommets.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-2014, 10:16 AM
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Car Camera | Leading Dash Camera Car Black Box Manufacturer
Originally Posted by js101b View Post
Hi guys,
I have a 2010 Accord Coupe EX-L 4cyl. I am interested in installing a dash camera. Could you give me some advice on how to go about that? I would really like to install it in the grill, if at all possible. Or, I could install it on the dash, but I want the wiring to be connected with the car (not by plugging in to my AC outlets).
Thanks!
there are 2 types of wiring, one is wire to your batt where it continuous suck your batt, the other is wire to your ignition where it will shut off when the engine shuts off. and also, if you are using finevu cr300 or other cameras with powermagic, it basically stops power supply once it detects the batt's voltage drops below a certain limit. if your camera has motion detect functionality, you can also use it so as to not consume that much batt.
 

Last edited by fyo52; 03-27-2014 at 05:39 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-19-2014, 01:39 PM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 862
Default

I would just use a switch to control on/off. I would assume if it is going in front it is to record and not too monitor. you are already looking forward so...

unless you want to record every time you get in the car, then you could use a fuse tap with a relay.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
enochyoo
General Tech Help
5
03-21-2014 01:28 PM
Chef_Chester
New Member Area
1
02-02-2013 02:01 AM
renzovc16
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
12-29-2012 03:39 PM
rb737
General Tech Help
0
04-25-2010 05:54 PM
Tippman7641
General Tech Help
7
01-18-2009 10:14 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dash Camera Installation Help/Advice


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.