Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

  #2  
Old 08-23-2007, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

yeah you can use your factory deck i think the sound quality is pretty decent, you may need a rca output convertor for your amps. just tap into the wires for the rear speakers. it will also probably be good to either amplify the stock speakers or replace them.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-2007, 04:27 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

If your amps hace high level inputs then you can hook them up using the speaker outputs from the factory head unit and then run new speaker wires from the amp to the speakers.

The problem with this is noise and lots of it. Youll have a hiss constantly. It may not be a huge problem and youll only be able to notice it when the volume is very low or its a quiet part of the song.

There are a couple ways to get around this.

1- Crutchfield has 2 kits for putting aftermarket HU's in. One replaces the HVAC and HU section of the dash with a place to put a new HU and still uses the HVAC controls. $150

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ktqs1Vi...mp;I=120997864



2- They also make an adapter that replaces the storage cubby below the AC controls. This is the way I went. $30

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ktqs1Vi...mp;I=120997862



3- The JL Audio Clean Sweep. It takes the inputs from the factory deck, runs it thru a DSP and flattens out the response curve then boosts the signal 8 volts to get the noise floor nice and low and converts them out to RCA's. A neat feature is it also has a current sensing output so you can use it for the remote lead for your amps so you dont have to run anything back to the trunk except power and ground wires. $300

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_c...hp?prod_id=369
 
  #4  
Old 08-23-2007, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

isnt it weird having a nonworking factory headunit and an aftermarket one at the same time?
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-2007, 06:10 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

Nah. The OEM head unit has so many buttons and gizmos on it it doesnt really look like a CD player! Plus it makes a really good clock! LOL

Another benefit is the security aspect. I take the faceplate off my beloved Alpine and if some thug peers thru the windows he sees the factory stereo in there and figures (hopefully) there isnt anything in there worth stealing.

Here is what mine looked like before (during actually) and after -




 
  #6  
Old 08-24-2007, 07:53 PM
RTexasF's Avatar
Super Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brownsville, TX 78521
Posts: 2,384
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

Here's an alternative but I doubt you would be satisfied with it :

12 gauge wire to all speakers
dash tweeters disconnected
JL audio 45X4 amp
Bazooka 200W Bass Tube
JL Audio Clean Sweep
Kicker 2 way speakers

for some reason the pictures just won't materialize even though I've put pics here a zillion times........please click on the attachments.
 
  #8  
Old 08-24-2007, 08:57 PM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

Yeah. That harness is actually a bypass. It plugs into the back of the OEM head unit and then into the Alpine. It still sends power and everything to the OEM unit so it will still power up - but the speakers will be powered from the new head unit.
 
  #9  
Old 08-25-2007, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 555
Default RE: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?

that sounds like a cool idea but my main display doesnt work now that i had to unplug it which sucks because i have a dcc so i have to guess where my ac is at and i have no clock now

to be honest that actually looks really clean. i think it works better with your car because you have grey interior i have tan

hey rick why did you disconnect the factory tweets? and where do those wires run behind the amplifier because i might steal that idea to put an amp in that location
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Factory Deck on a aftermarket system?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.