Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Firewall Grommet/Hole

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 06:44 PM
Default Firewall Grommet/Hole

Hi, I am new to hondaaccordforum and I have an '02 Accord coupe, and I am trying to find a break in the firewall through which to run some 4 ga. wire. I am aware that there is another similar thread in existence, but it's for a '04, and I'm pretty sure the body style changed after '02 for Accords (correct me if I'm wrong).

I've found one or two breaks near the master cylinder on the driver's side, but the more obvious of the two seems as if I would have to cut into the grommet in order to actually run the wire through it. If it would be safe/ok to slit open the hole in the grommet to make it slightly bigger and run the wire through, I would be willing to do this too.

Thanks in advance.

Old 04-27-2010, 07:53 PM
Super Moderator

i've found several in my 2001.

check out my build log, link in my sig.

Old 04-27-2010, 07:54 PM
Super Moderator

and yes, the spare grommet is fine to use, just drill out a hole sized for a 4awg rubber grommet and run it through. don't forget some silicone on the engine so you don't get water ingress.

Old 04-27-2010, 09:47 PM

Ok, thanks. I think I'll end up hacking into one of the grommets that's already there.

Nice work on yours by the way, ultra clean work. Any suggestions on me putting a 15" in the trunk (SQ of trunk, wiring problems, etc)? I'd definitely appreciate it.

I'd like to upgrade speakers and all but I probably won't, too lazy. haha.

Old 04-28-2010, 12:44 AM
Super Moderator