Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

help with installing a pioneer AVIC-F500BT

  #2  
Old 04-18-2009, 08:29 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

I'm sorry but dude your going to have to google this one on your own. I can help you decide on what to do, but I'm not going to explain the entire process when it can be found in a 30 second search. If you know how to install a normal HU, there is no difference, just mount the brain somewhere secure. A lot of people go under the seat, which I don't think is a bad choice really. If it doesn't have a brain, as it's a cheaper unit, there is no difference between this and a normal HU. How to physically install it will be covered in the instructions you get with the install kit.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-2009, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: savannah, ga
Posts: 333
Default

like t00fat said, its extremely straightforward if you can install an average single din h/u. if you cant, then i know for a fact theres plenty of diy's covering it for the 6th gen
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-2009, 10:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 134
Default

What's a brain?
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:01 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

Originally Posted by logan View Post
What's a brain?
It's a bit involved than this but think of it like this. Basically only the screen and dvd drive are installed in the dash, while the actual guts of the unit is installed separately. Usually bolted down to the floor.

Originally Posted by ad00a973 View Post
do i need new radio?
What do you mean? From quickly looking over what you posted, it is a HU also so you wouldn't need a radio in addition to that unit. If your saying should you look for something better? I would think so. I'm not at all familiar with that unit, but if you care about navigation you really want to go with a avic-x3 or what ever is the latest avic flagship model. It really is a killer unit, the voice recognition is just amazing.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
SteveSOL
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
05-02-2012 12:05 AM
Alvan9
General Tech Help
1
07-30-2009 06:34 AM
ad00a973
General Tech Help
1
05-03-2009 09:36 AM
lilblackman24
Appearance
0
04-26-2006 04:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: help with installing a pioneer AVIC-F500BT


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.