Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

I need technical help please!

  #2  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:13 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default RE: I need technical help please!

Get a JL Cleansweep. You will have to find a home for a new volume ****, but this is the best way to integrate a dual amp system with a stock HU.
 
  #3  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:34 AM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default RE: I need technical help please!

ORIGINAL: falkore24

Get a JL Cleansweep. You will have to find a home for a new volume ****, but this is the best way to integrate a dual amp system with a stock HU.
Not to mention you will get much better audio quality. Stock radios have built in EQs that try and compensate for crappy speakers. If you want to keep the stock HU and have a quality system you need a Cleansweep.

 
  #5  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:27 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default RE: I need technical help please!

CLICK HERE for all the info you could ask for on the Cleansweep. I believe one of our members has one installed, rtexasf if I remember correctly.

EDIT: You do know there is a kit for the 8th gen to install an aftermarket radio right? I'm not 100% if it replaces the stock radio or not, I'll look into it.

EDIT1: The kit does replace the stock radio.
 
  #6  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:53 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default RE: I need technical help please!

It's exactly what the first link says it is when you type "JL Cleansweep" into google.
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-2008, 11:48 AM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default RE: I need technical help please!

Well basicly. Cleansweep converts the signle of your headunit to rca signles and balnaces out the audio to a flat line. In which you can then use the eq on your amp to control the sound basicly. If you dont want to use that I used the scosche output convertor at walmart for my friends car. If you would like I would be happy an try to get pics of the set up for u. However i just wired an sub for now. But its basicly the same from their you would just end up needing the wires for the other speakers.
 
  #9  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:46 AM
MacLeod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 455
Default RE: I need technical help please!

The Cleansweep takes the crap signal from your stock head unit and then using its DSP, it EQ's that signal to virtually a flat line like it would be if it were coming from the RCA outputs of an aftermarket deck. It then boosts the signal by 8 volts and sends it out to the amps. The added boost in signal helps get the sound over the noise floor (the hiss thats in the signal inherently.

It also has a cool current sensing turn on feature and has its own remote turn on lead. The benefit of this is it will sense the current coming in off the speaker wires and turn itself on so you dont have to run a remote wire. Whats more is that you can use the remote lead out of the Cleansweep to use to turn on your amps so you dont have to run a turn on lead for them either.

The Rockford Fosgate 360.1 is another nice alternative.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
WheelBrokerAng
Tires & Wheels
19
04-24-2014 03:24 PM
Sparkplugs.com
General Tech Help
18
10-31-2010 03:16 PM
ArcticHonda
General Tech Help
1
12-26-2008 03:34 PM
67coronet383
General Tech Help
3
01-12-2008 09:40 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: I need technical help please!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.