Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Ignition wires as power source?

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2008, 01:16 PM
Default Ignition wires as power source?

I'm installing a Scosche FM modulator on my dad's 98 accord v6 and on the instruction list for the modulator it says to connect the power wires to the ignition wires. Is there anything wrong with is or would it be ok? If I connected it to the cigarette lighter wires the switch would have to be off when the car is off to to not the the battery right?

http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...=121&avf=N

Thanks!

Old 01-18-2008, 01:22 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: Ignition wires as power source?

Personally, being a developer i have a mindset that there's a quick way to do things, and a right way to do things...

I prefer the right way, and feel that that conneciton would be the quick way..

Having said that, I don't have a solution for you as I have zero experience with car electronics.

Old 01-18-2008, 02:45 PM

through ciglighter it would be off the fusebox which is triggered by the ACC but you have to keep in mind that you may pop a fuse if you deside to use the ciglighter with that connected to it

Old 01-18-2008, 05:02 PM

also if you hook it up to the cig lighter, you it will only come on when you turn the park lights on and headlights.....So do which you prefer.

Old 01-18-2008, 05:44 PM

the "right" way to do it in my opinion is to find an unused fuse location and tap into that.

Old 01-19-2008, 07:15 PM
FlikDaBean
Unregistered