Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

My audio setup

  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 04:24 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 16
Default My audio setup

Just a heads up. I'm a car audio installer..If you need help just message me...maybe i could help....so this is what i've done to my 96

Pioneer Avic D3 Headunit with Ipod cable
Farenheit FlipDown
Infinity Kappa 6'5 in front
Alpine Type R 6x9's in the back
2 twelve inch MTX TC712's
MTX JH1200 Amp
Stinger 1.2 Farad cap
Raptor Battery Terminals
 
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 09:27 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

lots and lots of pics help sell your abilities. do a detailed build photo log, showing every connection, every route, fabrication, etc.

see my build log for ideas (link in sig)

it's not what you have but how you install it that really matters.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-2010, 01:15 PM
WheelBrokerAng's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canton/Massillon, Ohio 44646
Posts: 30,431
Default

And keep_hope_alive is our Chief Installer..I said so right Rich
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-2010, 04:54 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 16
Default

Hey KHA....You are really really good at what you do.....didn't know there was a master installer here...Sorry.....My system is installed in all stock locations....I just got the car....I just built my new sub enclosure last night. It's going to stay wood till spring till I can do the fiberglass work. I made a 4 cubic foot box tuned to 45 herts
by the way nice to meet you KHA
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:05 AM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

i don't consider my self a "master installer", just a hobbyist. I'm an Acoustics Engineer/Electrical Engineer - at least that's what i do for a living. IMO, to be considered an "installer" you'd need your MECP certification in the appropriate sections. I have over 15 years experience in mobile installations, but for half of that i had no idea what i should have been doing. it's been a long learning experience.

it doesn't hurt to network, that's what forums are for. I try to minimize the installations i do for other people because they are so time consuming. you are welcome here to provide insight, advice, and comments on any questions people have.

good to meet you to. pics are always important. stock locations can work but you need foam to maintain a seal to the factory panel - here is an example of that
Name:  SciontCdeadening016.jpg
Views: 6
Size:  143.0 KB
in this pic you can also see how i circled the bolt holes that were used for the seat, and any other fastener when sound deadening a car, it's best to not deaden over holes then try to cut them out later, just avoid them when you deaden.

this is my current project for a coworker. we still have another 40 hours or so to go.
http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthre...=3#Post1805987



here are some other build logs of mine, examples of photos
http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthre...=3#Post1367890

http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthre...=3#Post1625041

http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthre...=3#Post1755977

http://forum.sounddomain.com/ubbthre...=3#Post1400581


Overall, i do this for a hobby and mostly just work on my own vehicles (i have over 350 hours in my Accord and i have a lot more planned). But people ask me to help them and i can't say no.

I believe in following the installation guidelines for IASCA, MECA,and USACi. if you read their install guidelines you get a good idea of how to properly install a car system that is safe.

I believe wiring is key - not only quality but installation. an install is only as good as the weakest connection - and all connections should be properly terminate, soldered, heat shrunk, etc. Basically, the wiring you add should be better than OEM - both in routing and terminations.

so welcome to HAF! i look forward to some pics of your system.

a 4 cu.ft. box is huge. what materials? how did you brace it? flared port(s)? pics? i've never built one that large before.
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:19 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 16
Default

Well MTX call for 2 cubic feet per sub sooo i went with a 4 for 2. And to answer 1 question i didn't flare the port. Its a strait 3 inch wide port 8.5 inches long.......and now regret not flaring it. Still sounds great though. And compared to me you are a master........I started my 310K apprenticeship 4 months ago..its all you need here...but i plan on doing all my levels for the MECP. I've been learning all the proper ways of doing things from my boss who grandfathered me in. It's all the old school methods though. I would love to do complete installs, customs door skins, dashes, all the fun time consuming stuff but ppl cant really afford it. So its alot of basic stuff.......If i had my own garage and not just a shed I would tare my car apart and go ground up....for now it works......but i just put that box in tonight and well I sooooo need to dynamat my whole car now......anyways i gotta get off for now. Have a good night
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:45 AM
WheelBrokerAng's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canton/Massillon, Ohio 44646
Posts: 30,431
Default

Good post you 2..Thanks for all the input...
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:48 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

note that when putting multiple subs in a single enclosure - you do not double the recommended volume when air space is shared. it's more like 2/3 of what the double volume would be since the enclosures do see a larger volume. if you have a divider and a port for each then you're right to double it. without a divider the tuning will be affected, i haven't done the hand calcs in a long time, everything is software based now.

best bet is to model the enclosure in software to get the desired Q and frequency resopnse.
 
  #9  
Old 11-07-2010, 08:50 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 16
Default

Was done with software at work.....But i'm planning on dividing the port i'm getting too much flutter. I'm only dropping it by 3hrz by deviding. so should be alright at 42....If not rebuild!!!!
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lakario
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
08-10-2012 03:29 PM
Lovell Brandon
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
07-22-2012 10:12 AM
hiphophead
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
0
06-30-2011 07:59 AM
tru_44
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
07-16-2007 10:23 PM
maxst2
Audio/Visual Electronics
37
06-12-2006 01:54 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My audio setup


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.