Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Need help upgrading my 07 factory audio sys

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2009, 02:07 AM
rookiebot
Unregistered
Question Need help upgrading my 07 factory audio sys

Hi,

First off I've to clearly say I'm a noob at car-audio. Its the first time I've signed up on a acar-audio forum of any sort. You guys seems to know quite a lot abt the accord. I got kicked up with the whole idea of upgrading after listening in to alpine demo at a carshow. lolz. I've tried my hand at reading up stuff for a few days regarding this.

I've an Accord 2007 vti-l. The HeadUnit is the factory provided 6-cd changer with integrated climate control. Now before I go further researching into Head Units , Amps, Speakers & Filters .. I need to clear of a few questions - which if go around reading will take quite a long time.
(Btw my accord vendor promised I'd loose my warranty on car-electronics if I upgrade or re-wire the electronics...lol)

1) Is it practial to replace the climate control integrated headunit?
I need the original panels to remain the same & displays maintained .. .. (I did come across those 150$kits but they looked ugly & doesnt have anything for the climate control display)

2) If option 1 is not feasible - is there a pre-out from the factory HU to connect with the amp? If not is it practical to use adapters\filters from the powered audio out of the HU to after market power amps?

3) Recommended amp config that I understood - I would need a 4 channel amp for my 4 speakers & a mono amp for the subwoofer. I also do realise the amps should be rated above the speakers wattage - or now is the other way around - im a lil confused. . Is this correct?

4)And I did find the AUX in connector in the trunk - is there a similiar connector available directly from the HU?