Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Tapping factory fuse panel

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2007, 09:07 PM
Default Tapping factory fuse panel

I'm not sure where to post this, so I figured this would be the best place.

I need to tap two factory fuse locations to power a cd changer and an alpine 701. I've never done this before, and honestly haven't even looked at the fuse panel on my car. Is there a quick and easy way to tap into the factory power to get juice for these guys? If not, I can run a power wire from the battery and go at it that way, but I'd rather not do that if possible. The sig says it all, 05 EX v6 5AT. Thanks!

Old 10-25-2007, 09:57 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Old 10-25-2007, 10:02 AM
Default RE: Tapping factory fuse panel

awesome, thanks!

I was thinking about it some more earlier, and I realized both of the devices I want to hook up have inline fuses already built in on their power wires. should I just use a fuse tap instead? if so, is there a certain fuse I should or shouldn't piggyback on?

Old 10-25-2007, 10:10 AM

Since your speakers are amp'ed externally, the CD changer and sound processor aren't going to take that much power. Also, the changer already has an accessory lead to turn it on and off and the SP has a remote. I'd say that you're good to just use the stock radio power lead. Otherwise, the device above would work as would a direct run to the battery. The simplist is the radio lead. Where do you have the SP located? I'd kinda expect it to be near the amps in the trunk. If that's the case, I'd power it to your battery mainline's distribution block.

Old 10-25-2007, 10:32 AM

701 will be in the trunk, however, I'm using an Audison 5.1k amp for the stereo, so no distro block.

So, if I can run power and turn on from the deck's harness to these, that'd be great.