Detailing Discuss detailing your Accord within.

Wet Paint & Wax?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2007, 07:24 PM
phishie
Unregistered
Default Wet Paint & Wax?

Hey everyone-

I'm new to HA Forum, been reading up here a lot recently on cleaning products, especially Wet Paint. I went ahead and ordered some based on the rave reviews it's gotten. Should have it by the end of the week so I'm trying to get my system & products in order for a good ol' car cleaning. Before I get to the questions I should let you know about the car. I have a '07 Silver Accord Coupe (wanted graphite but it never showed up at the dealer, got a free teflon coating out of it), only got it about 5 weeks ago. Put about 1,500 miles on it since and a decent amount of dirt, pollen & bugs as well as a little bird ****. All in all it's grimy, but not terrible like it went through a swamp or anything. Actually, I'm located in the DC-metro region so that acid rain hasn't helped either, leaving some nasty water marks also.

So anyways, I'm planning on a good wash -> clay -> wash -> pre-wax cleaner -> 2x or 3x WP applications. For the wash and pre-wax I'm going to pick up some Mequiars Gold Class wash, and some Sonus or Klasse pre-wax cleanser. For the windows I'll try to find some Stoner's Invisible Glass.

So, where do I fit regular old wax into that cleaning, before or after WP and furthermore, should I at all?? The rain truly is nasty down here so I could use all the water protection I can get. Also, do you guys think I should use a sealant, or is WP all I need? What about claying & pre-wax cleaner, should I skip them as well? The car is only 5 weeks old and I don't know if that teflon coating has any requirements when it comes to cleaning. How about Stoner's invisible glass, can and how do I use that with WP? Lastly, do you guys use a wax on your wheels with WP, or just WP?

Sorry for the long post, but thanks for the great forum-
phish

Old 10-02-2007, 07:45 PM
19Accord97
Unregistered