Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

99 Accord LX Engine Knocking

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 01:36 PM
Unhappy 99 Accord LX Engine Knocking

Here's a link to the video I made that can give a better visual than what I can put into words. It seems to have appeared this winter. I ziptied the loose brake lines (thanks for a stellar job, Sears ) and inspected the heat shields, but it's still there.

Any ideas? Someone suggested it's the harmonic balancer, and someone else said it could be an engine bearing. I hope not!

There seems to be a slight performance loss, but it could just be me. I'm not very good at gauging those things.

Going to try to get it to the local dealership so I can pay them $110 to look at it soon.

Link:

Please ignore the other videos haha. Thanks!

Old 04-08-2013, 04:12 PM

Sounds like knocking. Do a vacuum test before paying anyone. Or pay someone. Just not the dealer. Anyone but the dealer.

Old 04-08-2013, 06:34 PM

I really really don't want to pay anyone to do anything haha. $110 to look at something makes me want to vomit.

What's the best way to do a vacuum test? The only ones I've seen are with carberator fluid, but that stuff is highly flammable and it would make me nervous to put it in my running engine.

Old 04-08-2013, 06:54 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

I hear two noises;

1) a regular tapping that sounds like a valve (adjust valves).

2) a rattling, shaking sound that sounds like a rotating bearing issue; ac compressor idler, altenator, PS. Suggest removing accessory belts; PS then AC/Alt belts to see if you can isolate source of this sound.

good luck

Old 04-08-2013, 10:07 PM

Thanks Texas, I'll look up how to adjust the valves and update on whether or not it works. Be prepared for some follow up questions though, because I'm still pretty new to the world of fixing cars